Museum & History
The Busselton Jetty Museum, located within the Interpretive Centre, received a multimedia makeover in March 2017! The refreshed Museum brings history to life offering a new and invigorated visitor experience, with interactive, immersive creative technologies. Learn about the colourful history of the 152 year old Jetty through two interactive timelines on wall touch screens with three centuries worth of images, videos and stories, many of which have been contributed by the community. A touch table enables users to select and see the visual changes to the Jetty structure and length from the 1800’s to 2000’s. The Museum is open 7 days a week and entry is free.
Construction of the Busselton Jetty began in 1865. Tourism in the 1880s began to increase and the Jetty was also used as a stopping point for many passenger ships, this began Busselton’s life as a tourist town. Further extensions were made throughout the following 100 years creating the remarkable 1.841 kilometre length it is today, making it the longest wooden piled jetty in the Southern Hemisphere and the second longest in the world . After more than a century of use and servicing over 5000 vessels, the Jetty officially closed as a Port in 1972. Once closed to shipping, government funding for maintenance ceased. Following the decline of funding and the crippling effects of Cyclone Alby in 1978, a community group was formed to raise funds for much needed restoration and maintenance. Between 1987 and 2003, the community organisation now known as the Busselton Jetty Inc raised sufficient funds to replace 50% of the Jetty structure, establish the train service and construct the iconic Underwater Observatory and Retail Centre. In 2011 a $27 million refurbishment of the jetty structure was completed.
Download the full Busselton Jetty timeline here.